Colorado Laws Affecting Bicycle Riders
In Colorado, there are several laws and rules of the road that bicyclists should follow to ensure safe cycling. These include:
- Bicyclists are considered as motorists and must adhere strictly to all applicable laws
- Bicyclists shall be treated as pedestrians when crossing through a crosswalk
- Bicyclists shall travel using the far right lane and stay close to the curb
- Bicyclists shall indicate their intent to make a turn by using hand signals
- Bicyclists can use other lanes to avoid hazards or overtake vehicles
- Bicyclists shall yield the right-of-way to pedestrians in a crosswalk
Just like motorists, bicyclists are expected to exercise a duty of care and follow the rules of the road.
What to Do After an Accident
The moments after being involved in an accident can be confusing to sort through. However, it is important to remain calm and not let your emotions take control. Following the accident, it’s important to:
- Exit your bicycle and get to safety
- Call the police or law enforcement agency
- Get immediate medical assistance for your injuries
- Collect necessary information or documentation such as the driver's phone number, the driver's license, police report, accident scene photos, witness statements, and medical report
- Hire a legal counsel to help you file an insurance claim or represent you in your personal injury lawsuit
What you do, or don’t do, can impact your personal injury claim. The sooner these steps are taken the easier it will be to obtain the necessary information.
Modified Comparative Fault in Colorado
Colorado uses a modified form of comparative negligence, which reduces a victim's ability to recover damages if found partially at fault for their injuries. Since Colorado falls into the 50 percent bar rule, the injured party will only be able to recover damages if found to be less than 50 percent responsible for the accident.
If a victim is less than 50 percent responsible for the accident, reduced compensation will be awarded to the victim depending on their fault percentage. For example, if the injured party is determined to be 20 percent responsible for the accident then what would have been a $10,000 settlement, would be reduced to $8,000.
Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage
The Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage covers accident victims even if they're not driving. If the at-fault party doesn't have enough coverage on their policy, you can make a claim with your own UM coverage.
Statute of Limitations
In Colorado, all personal injury claims must be filed within three years from the date the accident occurred.
Hiring a Colorado Personal Injury Attorney
Being involved in a bicycle accident can be a devastating experience, especially when it results in an injury or fatality. Regardless, you don't have to go through it alone. Hiring a knowledgeable Colorado attorney immediately is important to protect your rights and for proper guidance.
With more than 60 years of combined experience in personal injury cases, our attorneys at Gama Law Firm possess the required experience and expertise to help you fight to protect your rights. As your legal counsel, we can help:
- Fight to represent your best interest
- Review your case and carry out a comprehensive investigation
- Gather all necessary information, pieces of evidence, police report, and other required documentation
- Establish fault and determine case-value
- Negotiate a fair financial settlement with the insurance company
- Represent you in your personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit
Our attorneys will fight compassionately to protect your rights and attempt to recover deserved compensation for your injuries and damages. We will ensure that the right people are held responsible.